California City and County Cannabis Ballot Measure Roundup: Northern California

With Proposition 64's passage, attention now turns to local county and city governments around the state that will issue necessary licenses for commercial adult use cannabis businesses under Prop. 64 and for medical businesses under the Medical Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act

In many local jurisdictions, elected officials or citizen activists have placed on the ballot measures to allow, tax, and license cannabis businesses at the local local.  For counties in Northern California and the Central Valley, the details are below.  

A quick summary, however, is that measures to impose or allow local government to impose taxes passed just about everywhere they were on the ballot -- almost 20 just in  Northern California and the Central Valley.

By contrast, measures to create local permitting and regulations for cannabis businesses did not fare as well.  The Heritage Act failed in Mendoncio County, as did efforts in Butte and Yolo Counties.   Voters in Dunsmuir similarly rejected an effort to allow cultivation.  Only Stockton and Colfax used the ballot box to allow licensing of cannabis businesses.

Here are the results of all the Northern California and Central Valley cannabis-related ballot measures on November 8, organized by county.

Alameda County

Hayward Measure EE authorizes the city government to impose at tax of up to 15% on adult use (non-medical) cannabis retail sales.  It passed.

San Leandro Measure NN authorizes the city government to impose a tax of up to 10% on gross receipts by cannabis businesses.  It passed.

Butte County

Butte County Measure L would repeal a ban on medical cannabis cultivation, distribution manufacturing, and retail sales and create licensing and regulation in unincorporated Butte County.  It failed.

Contra Costa County

Pittsburg Measure J authorizes a tax of up to 10% on gross receipts by cannabis businesses.  It passed.

Fresno County

Coalinga Measure E imposed a tax on commercial cannabis space, with $25 per square foot for the first 3,000 square feet and $10 per square foot for additional space.   It passed.

Coalinga Measure G would allow the license of a single dispensary in Coalinga.  It also passed.

Humboldt County

Rio Dell Measure T is advisory to the city council of Rio Dell and supports licensing and taxing cannabis businesses in a certain portion of the municipality.  It passed.

Humboldt County Measure S would tax cultivation at $1 to $3 per square foot on cannabis cultivation.  It passed.

Mendocino County

Mendocino County Measure AF (the Mendocino Heritage Act) would repeal much of the county's current medical cannabis regulation and create a new system for licensing of medical cannabis cultivation, manufacturing, distribution, and retail sales in the unincorporated county.    It failed.

Mendocino County Measure AI would allow a tax of up to 10% of gross receipts for cannabis businesses.  It passed.

Mendocino County Measure AJ is advisory only and advises on whether the county should spend tax revenue from Measure AI on enforcement of marijuana regulations, mental health services, county road repair, and fire and medical emergency services. It passed.

Point Area Measure AE would tax medical cannabis businesses at 3% of proceeds and would tax adult use cannabis businesses at 7% of proceeds.  It passed.

Monterey County

Monterey County Measure Y imposed taxes on recreational and medical cannabis businesses in unincorporated Monterey County, including a tax on cultivators that starts at $10 per square foot and grows to  $25 per square foot in 2020.   It passed easily.   Monterey County has already passed medical cannabis licensing ordinances, but they were contingent on Measure Y's passage, and will now take effect.

Local measures in Del Ray Oaks (Measure A), King City (Measure J), and Gonzales (Measure W), Greenfield (Measure O), and Salinas (Measure L) would allow or impose various taxes on cannabis businesses. All passed.

Placer County

Colfax Measure H would require the city council to repeal the local ban on dispensaries, allow delivery and cultivation, and impose a 15% sales tax.  It passed.

San Joaquin County

Stockton Measure P would overturn the ban on dispensaries and allow four licensed dispensaries in Stockton.

Stockton Measure Q would increase tax rates for cannabis businesses to a range of 3.5% to 5% of gross receipts.

Both Stockton measures passed.

Siskiyou County 

Dunsmuir Measure Y would allow medical marijuana cultivation in Dunsmuir.  It failed. 

Solano County

Dixon Measure K authorizes a tax of up to 15% of gross receipts tax on cannabis businesses.  It passed.

Solano County Measure C would tax cannabis businesses in unincorporated Solano County at 15% of gross receipts.  It passed.

Sonoma County

Cloverdale Measure P would authorize a gross receipts tax of 10% on cannabis businesses.  It passed.

Yuba County

Maryville Measure F would add a 15% gross receipts tax to cannabis busineses.  It passed.

Yuba County Measure E would allow licensing of medical cannabis businesses  in unincorporated Yuba County.  It failed.